Americans with Disabilities Act Transition Plan

The adoption of an ADA Transition Plan by all public agencies with greater than or equal to 50 employees is a requirement of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) enacted on July 26, 1990. ADA is a civil rights law prohibiting the discrimination against individuals on the basis of a disability. ADA consists of five titles outlining protections in the following areas:

  1. Employment
  2. State and Local Government Services
  3. Public Accommodations
  4. Telecommunications
  5. Miscellaneous Provisions

Title II of ADA is companion legislation to two other previous federal statutes and regulations: the Architectural Barriers Act of 1968 and Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973. Title II of ADA pertains to programs, activities, and services a public entity provides.

As a provider of public transportation services and programs, the City must comply with this section of the Act. Title II of ADA provides that “…no qualified individual with a disability shall, by reason of such disability, be excluded from participation in or be denied the benefits of services, programs, or activities of a public entity, or be subjected to discrimination by any such entity.”

As required by Title II of ADA, the City of Northfield has performed self-evaluations of its policies, practices, and programs including current facilities and infrastructure in public rights-of way and developed this draft transition plan to verify that, in implementing the city’s policies and practices, the departments are providing accessibility and not adversely affecting the full participation of individuals with disabilities.

If you have any questions about the draft ADA Transition Plan or would like to provide feedback or input, please feel free to contact Sean Simonson.

Maps, plans and files

City of Northfield ADA Transition Plan - Final (PDF)