What developments does this policy apply to?

This policy applies to new construction and significant renovations and additions in municipal developments and developments seeking a financial assistance in the form of:

  • Housing and redevelopment funds
  • Tax increment financing (TIF)
  • EDA – only grants and forgivable loans
  • Land write downs
  • Bonds
  • Tax abatement
  • Low-income housing tax credit
  • MIF
  • Conduit financing
  • All projects with state and federal funding requiring approvals by the city (i.e. ARP)

Significant renovations and additions are defined as those that are of 10,000 square feet and greater and replacing or installing HVAC equipment.

Show All Answers

1. What developments does this policy apply to?
2. Why use a third-party rating system? Will this increase the cost of development?
3. How does the city have the authority to do this policy? Is this a code?
4. How were the listed rating systems selected?
5. How does this policy relate to the ever-evolving rating system versions and energy code?
6. How many projects does this apply to?
7. What happens if a developer chooses not to the follow the policy? What happens if the project doesn’t certify under the chosen requirements?
8. Can the city reduce taxes for homeowners if they choose to do this type of building?
9. What if a project can’t meet some requirements due to factors that are outside of project control (for example Green Communities requires public transportation locations nearby)?
10. Is the city considering specific incentives for the sustainable building policy?